[OT] - Spam menace - Re: [ug-bosug] (paypalaccept)(www.pioneer365.com)wholesale brandsneaker , wholesale brand

USM Bish bish at airtelbroadband.in
Mon Dec 4 08:55:09 PST 2006


On Mon, Dec 04, 2006 at 09:04:16PM +0530, Jayakara Kini wrote:
> The    mail   is    from   qijuqi11 at 163.com    which   seems
> to   be    advertising   www.pioneer365.com.    The   actual
> originating  IP  of  this  mail  is  72.5.123.71,  which  is
> neither  163.com(202.108.9.31  to   39)  or  pioneer365.com(
> 64.202.189.128).
>
> Interestingly   the  IP   address   of  opensolaris.org   is
> 72.5.123.5. which makes me  think the originating IP address
> was spoofed!
>
> Probably, a DoS attack by an enraged receiver of the spam on
> 163.com or pioneer365.com is exactly what the sender wants.
>

Thanks Kini,  for pointing  this out. On  seeing 50  odd spams
from the  same source  on list,  I got quite  cut up.  This is
criminal. Spamming  a mailing list  is the worst of  crimes. I
never thought  that this bloke  might actually want  to divert
gunfire to another territory. Actually, I almost developed RSI
hitting the  [del] key that many  times ! The DoS  attack idea
was therefore the first instinctive irate response !

I did  not investigate deeper,  and let go my  first reaction.
This bloke must be having a bot/ script running ... Meanwhile,
there needs  to be some  stricter policies for spam  bounce on
our otherwise spam free mailing list.

Bish






More information about the ug-bosug mailing list